Heads of Nodes Committee

The Heads of Nodes Committee has a major role in developing and agreeing the ELIXIR scientific and technical strategy. The committee is composed of scientific representatives of each of the ELIXIR Nodes and is chaired by the ELIXIR Director. The Head of Node is appointed by each Node according to national processes.

What the Committee does

Committee members

Node Head of Node Deputy Head of Node
Belgium Dr Frederik Coppens Dr Kim De Ruyck
Czech Republic Dr Jiří Vondrášek Prof. Luděk Matyska
Denmark Prof. Søren Brunak n/a
EMBL-EBI Dr Jo McEntyre and Dr Ewan Birney TBC
Estonia Prof. Jaak Vilo Dr Hedi Peterson
Finland Dr Tommi Nyrönen Dr Ilkka Lappalainen

Prof. Claudine Médigue and
Prof. Jacques van Helden

Prof. Anne-Françoise Adam-Blondon
Germany Prof. Andreas Tauch

Prof. Alfred Pühler

Greece Dr Martin Reczko Dr Christoforos Nikolaou
Hungary Dr Balázs Győrffy n/a
Ireland Prof. Denis Shields Dr Colm Ryan
Israel Dr Dan Ben-Avraham  
Italy Prof. Graziano Pesole Prof. Silvio Tosatto
Luxembourg Dr Reinhard Schneider Dr Wei Gu
Netherlands Prof. Jaap Heringa Dr Morris Swertz
Norway Prof. Inge Jonassen Prof. Nils Peder Willassen
Portugal Dr Mário Silva Dr Ana Portugal Melo
Slovenia Prof. Brane Leskošek n/a
Spain Prof. Alfonso Valencia Dr Salvador Capella-Gutierrez
Sweden Prof. Bengt Persson Dr Jessica Lindvall
Switzerland Prof. Ron Appel and Dr Christine Durinx n/a
UK Prof. Carole Goble and Prof. Neil Hall n/a


Member Head of Node Deputy Head of Node
Cyprus Dr George Spyrou Dr Vasilis Promponas
Heads of Nodes Committee retreat, 2017